Kamloops professional Photography tips by Kelly Funk: Lesson 1-Aperture

As a commercial and tourism photographer I get to experience a lot of different shooting situations.  In association with Tourism Kamloops (see here) I’ve been able to teach some of those learned techniques through my workshops for the last couple of years.  I enjoy passing on what I know to others who are passionate about photography.  I also love to write, which I’m privelidged to do as a contributing editor and feature writer  in Outdoor Photography Canada magazine  (see the online mag here)

I thought it would be nice to be able to write a bit more and share my knowledge locally and regionally through my blog; you know, where the weather’s always nice and the shooting conditions perfect :o So, every so often I’ll be passing along tips and techniques to help you with your photography, regardless of your level.

Lesson 1: Camera basics – The aperture & depth of field:

I’m going to start at what’s basically ground zero for photographers.  What is the aperture?  The aperture is what is measured in F stops.  ie. f/5.6, f/8, f/11 etc.  The aperture controls the amount of light hitting your sensor and depth of field, and is located in the lens. The smaller the number the less of a sliver of focus you have.  The larger the number, the greater the sliver of focus.

Example 1. small aperture – f 4.5

You can see the apples in the back are out of focus or ‘soft’.  They were taken at the relatively small aperture for effect.

Example 2. large aperture -f 14

Here I not only had to show the reflection and boats in focus for the client, but I also wanted to show the background and sky in focus as well, due to the striking sunset.

Join me next  when I’ll talk about how to change your  shutter speed to work in correlation with any change you make to your aperture, and how to get the ‘perfect’ exposure everytime!

If you have any questions or would like to see more of my work go to www.kellyfunkphotography.com

Happy shooting,

Kelly

~ by Kelly Funk Photography on April 9, 2011.

One Response to “Kamloops professional Photography tips by Kelly Funk: Lesson 1-Aperture”

  1. Your style is unique in comparison to other folks I’ve read stuff from.
    I appreciate you for posting when you’ve got the opportunity, Guess I will just bookmark this
    blog.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

