Ballerinas – a photographic journey (14)

With winter approaching, and work now giving me some time to build on the Ballerina Series, I was keyed up to create a concept thatDSC_7546 Funk I had envisioned for quite some time.  Let me get this out there right away: I don’t like winter! I find it suffocating and drawn out…BUT, it does provide me with very unique settings to carry out this series.

Before we got caught in the throws of the white nastiness I wanted to showcase a dancer with a virtual ‘way out’, an escape of winter into whatever world or climate that the viewer imagined.

I had envisioned a pose similar to the one above and I knew immediately that a free flow pose in this ‘take off’ state worked perfectly.  The dancer now had two ways out: To fly or to take the road, either was at her disposal.  This was the main image that I was focused on as it held the dual meaning so well.  The dancer (Morgan) and I agreed though that the area was so cool we wanted to try something else.  The second shot turned out to be a more spontaneous execution, which I was super excited about.  I had brought the luggage but with something entirely different in mind.  The outcome surpassed my expectations!

Until the next Ballerina post!  Cheers, KellyDSC_7559 funk

~ by Kelly Funk Photography on December 1, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
